APC wins Kware/Wamakko Federal Constituency Bye-election



By Najem Francis, Sokoto

Predictably, the All Progressive (APC) candidate, Alhaji Abdullahi Muhammad Kalambaina, has been declared the winner of last Saturday’s bye-election for the Kware/Wamakko Federal Constituency of Sokoto State whose occupant, Alhaji Abdullahi Wamakko, passed on last July.

He polled 31,288 votes while his closest rival, Alhaji Aminu Bello Kware of the People Democratic Party (PDP) came a distant second with 7,205.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Abdulatif Usman, said that 43,130 voters were accredited for the bye-election out of a total of 176,825 registered voters in Kware and Wamakko local government areas which make up the constituency.

According to Usman, 42,532 eligible voters cast their votes out of which 40,046 were valid while 2,486 votes were rejected.

He said that Kabir Altine of ACPN scored 62 votes, Umaru Muhammad of ADC 80, Muktar Umar of APA 342, Aliyu Bilyaminu APGA 121, Abubakar Bello DA 32 and Jamilu Imam of DPP scored 155 votes.

Others include Abdullahi Abubakar GPN 326, Abubakar Ahmad KOWA 33, Kabiru Al-mustapha MMN 24, Abubakar Sama’ila MPPP 19, Kabiru Ahmad NCP 28, Umar Ma’azu NDLP 50, Aminu Mustapha NEPP 33 and Yahaya Muhammad of NCP scored 105 votes.

Furthermore, he said  that Nura Abubakar of PPP 38, Nasiru Garba SDP 27, Abdulrahman Dalhatu UPN 15, Sanusi Aliyu UPP 06 and Shehu Buba of YPP scored 05 votes while the only woman contestant Hafsatu Umar of A party scored 52 votes.

He therefore declared Kalambaina who was the Wamakko Council Chairman as the winner having scored the highest votes as stipulated by the electoral law.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here