Bayelsa Polls: Gov Dickson Bounces Back

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate and the incumbent governor of the state, Seriake Dickson has been re-elected as the Governor of the state.
He was declared winner by the INEC state Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC.
At the last count, Dickson polled 134,998, while his major contender, Timipreye Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled 86,852.
Breakdown of the votes showed the number of registered voters as 654493 while accredited Votes were 242114. Total valid votes were 225520 with 6647 rejected votes and total votes cast which stood at 232167.
Further breakdown shows that All Progressives Congress, APC scored 86,852, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP 134,998 while Peoples Democratic Movement scored 1,572 votes.
Meanwhile, the Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike has declared that the re-election of the Bayelsa State Governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson is a victory for democracy in the face of unrelenting external forces.
In a congratulatory message to the Bayelsa State Governor, following his re-election at the conclusion of the supplementary governorship election, Governor Wike said that the will of the people of Bayelsa State has prevailed as they have resolved to remain with the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.
A statement issued by the Governor’s Special Assistant on Electronic Media, Simeon Nwakaudu, pointed out that the people of Bayelsa State exhibited the true Niger Delta spirit which abhors oppression and injustice.
He said that with the re-election of Governor Seriake Dickson, a clear message has been sent to the dark forces of rigging and electoral manipulation that they will never find accommodation in this geo-political zone.
Governor Wike specifically commended the good people of Bayelsa State for being vigilant all through the governorship election process, saying that their hard work and dedication to the enthronement of democracy have been rewarded by the re-election of a true Niger Delta patriot.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *