Tribunal dismisses three LP Representatives, mandates rerun.

The National Assembly Election Petition Tribunal in Umuahia, Abia State, has annulled the elections of three Labour Party House of Representatives members. Justice Adeyinka Aderibigbe led the decision to dismiss Mr. Ibe Okwara Osunwa from Arochukwu/Ohafia Federal Constituency due to breaches in the 2022 electoral act, based on a petition by APC’s Daniel Okeke. INEC has been directed to reissue the certificate of return to Okeke.

In a separate judgment, Justice Hajaratu Hajjo Lawa revoked the election of Munachim Alozie from Obingwa/Osisioma/Ugwunagbo Federal Constituency, citing mistakes in the LP candidate’s declaration. A rerun has been ordered within 90 days. The tribunal highlighted discrepancies in the votes, with more leads than actual voters in some areas. The Young Progressives Party’s Ibe Michael Nwoke had petitioned against Alozie’s win due to the margin of lead.

In another case, the tribunal declared the election of Emeka Nnamani, representing Aba North and South Federal Constituency, null due to certificate forgery. Consequently, INEC has been instructed to present the certificate of return to All Progressives Grand Alliance’s Alex Ikwueche.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *