FG Hands Over Ambulances To 18 Unity Colleges

By Lateef Taiwo

The Federal government has handed over 18 ambulances and two buses to some Unity colleges in the country.

Speaking during the handing over ceremony on Friday, the Minister of State for Education, Rt. Hon Goodluck Opiah, stated the significant of the ceremony was that the ministry not only wants students in the school to be well educated but to also ensure that they remain of good health in order to have sound minds for the pursuit of learning.

The minister added that the ministry will be procuring another set of fifteen ambulances from the 2023 appropriation which would be distributed on the basis of distance to urban centres, difficulty in accessing hospital services and geopolitical spread.

“As I congratulate all of you for getting this ambulances, you should also know that the responsibility for its optimal use to the benefit of the students as well as your host communities should be your number one priority. For clarity, the ambulances would be in the care of the government hospital in your community for which a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) has been prepared. You are to sign the five copies, retain one, give one to the hospital and return three to the Ministry.

“The option of handing over the ambulances to the hospitals was informed by the need for functional use, as if it is left with your individual schools, it may not be used for up to three months. Such a state-of-the-art ambulance should be made useful. Of course, you will always have use of it on a priority basis,” he said.

Opiah also stated that two buses were also procured for two of the new unity schools that do not have one so as to ensure that all unity schools have their own buses for use by the students.

“Once more, I congratulate you all and wish you safe journey back to your various destination. I look forward to hearing good news from all our unity schools,” he said.

The beneficiary schools are Federal Government College, Nasarawa State, Federal Government Girls College (FGGC),Langtang, Plateau State, Federal Science and Technical College (FSTC) Ogugu, Kogi and FGC, Azare, Bauchi.

Others are FSTC, Michika Adamawa State, FGGC, Jalingo, Taraba, FSTC Katsina, FSTCK aduna, FGC Gusau, Zamfara, FGC Nise,Anambra and FSTC Amuzu, Ebonyi state.

In the list are also FSTC Umuaka, FGC , Akwa-Ibom State, FGC, Ikom, Cross River, FGC Odi, Bayelsa State, FGC, Ikirun, Osun State, FSTC, Igangan, Ogun State and FSTC Ijebu-Mushin, Ogun State.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *