President Tinubu Swears in New ICPC Chairman and FCSC Chairman, Members

By Milcah Tanimu

President Bola Tinubu has officially sworn in Musa Adamu as the new Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC). The swearing-in ceremony, which took place in the State House Council Chambers preceding the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting, marked the official assumption of duties by the new ICPC Chairman.

In addition, Professor Tunji Olaopa was sworn in as the Chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC), along with eleven other members of the commission. Professor Olaopa, who hails from Oyo State and has a background in academia, brings substantial experience to the role, having served as a Permanent Secretary in five ministries.

Members of the FCSC sworn in include representatives for Adamawa, Gombe, and Taraba, among others, covering various states across the country. The FEC meeting followed the swearing-in ceremony.

Ajuri Ngelale, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, provided a citation for the newly appointed ICPC Chairman, highlighting his previous role as the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice in Jigawa State from 2019 to 2023. Ngelale also emphasized that the appointment would be subject to confirmation by the Nigerian Senate.

The appointment of the new ICPC Chairman and members of the FCSC became necessary due to the outgoing Chairman’s request to proceed on pre-end of tenure leave. The new appointments were made ahead of the expiration of the outgoing Chairman’s tenure on February 3, 2024. The position of Secretary to the Commission, held by Mr. Clifford Okwudiri Oparaodu, does not require Senate confirmation.

Ngelale highlighted Dr. Musa Adamu Aliyu’s significant reforms as the Attorney General of Jigawa State since September 2019 and noted that he holds Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Doctorate degrees in Law. Dr. Musa Adamu Aliyu was also named as a Senior Advocate of Nigeria-designate in October 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *