Pro-Fubara Lawmakers Appeal Supreme Court Verdict on Pro-Wike Legislators



By Milcah Tanimu

A faction of the Rivers State House of Assembly loyal to Governor Siminalayi Fubara has filed an appeal at the Supreme Court, challenging a recent Court of Appeal judgment regarding 25 lawmakers who defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Factional Speaker Rt. Hon. Victor Oko-Jumbo announced the appeal during a plenary session held at a temporary legislative facility in Port Harcourt. He expressed that the Assembly believes the Court of Appeal erred in its decision, which stated that the Rivers State High Court lacked jurisdiction in the case.

Oko-Jumbo emphasized his legitimacy as the Speaker and reiterated that the seats of Rt. Hon. Martin Amaewhule and the other defected lawmakers remain vacant, as declared by the former Speaker, Rt. Hon. Edison Ehie, in December 2023. He criticized the defectors for continuing to claim their seats despite the declaration and a restraining order from the Rivers State High Court.

In response to their dissatisfaction with the High Court’s ruling, the defected lawmakers appealed to the Court of Appeal, which ruled that the High Court lacked jurisdiction. However, Oko-Jumbo clarified that the Court of Appeal did not declare the defectors as members of the House, nor did it rule on their defection.

Oko-Jumbo stated that the faction has instructed their lawyers to appeal to the Supreme Court, seeking to overturn the Court of Appeal’s decision. He maintained that the defectors are no longer members of the House until a court of competent jurisdiction rules otherwise.

During the plenary session, the House considered and passed two bills through the first reading: the Rivers State Emergency Management Agency Bill, 2024, and the Rivers State Transport Company Reform Bill, 2024, presented by Hon. Sokari Goodboy and Hon. Adolphus Orubienimigha, respectively.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *