The Kano State House of Assembly has passed the Kano Emirates Council Law (Repeal Bill) 2024, effectively abolishing the establishment of five new emirates in the state.

The bill, which scaled through its third reading, nullifies the creation of the Bichi, Rano, Gaya, and Karaye emirates alongside the historic Kano Emirate.

All offices created under the repealed law have been dissolved, and district heads appointed or elevated under the previous legislation are to revert to their former positions. The bill, titled the Kano State Emirates Council (Amendment No. 2) Law, 2024, was sponsored by Lawan Hussaini Chediyar Yan Gurasa, the Majority Leader and representative of the Dala Constituency.

The original law, enacted under former Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje on December 5, 2019, was amended twice: first on October 14, 2020, and again on April 11, 2023. Section 3(1) of the law had established the five distinct emirates, distributing jurisdiction over the 44 local government areas in the state.

Following the deposition of Emir Muhammadu Sanusi on March 9, 2020, the law was amended to designate the Emir of Kano as the chairman of the council. Section 12 of the law allowed the governor to grade emir offices as first, second, or third class with the assembly’s approval.

A principal officer of the assembly, who requested anonymity, asserted the assembly’s authority, stating, “no Jupiter can stop the assembly from amending the law.”

This legislative change marks a significant shift in the traditional governance structure of Kano State, reverting to the previous singular emirate system.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *